IEBC Announces Phase II Voter Registration Drive That Will Include Diaspora

Photo Courtesy

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has announced phase II of the Enhanced Continuous Voter Registration.


According to IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati the exercise will commence on January 17 and end on February 6, 2022.

“This will be the second and final phase of the Enhanced continuous voter registration in preparation for the general elections,” he said.

Chebukati said the exercise was made possible after IEBC received additional money from the treasury.

The exercise will also include Diaspora registration which will begin on January 21 and end on February 6.

“ECVR two will also augment the right to register as a voter for Kenyans living in Diaspora in addition to Burundi, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, and South Africa which participated in the 2017 General Election.”

Countries, where the exercise will take place, are the United Kingdom, Canada, United States, South Sudan, Qatar, UAE, and Germany.

Diaspora registration will be conducted during official working hours in embassies and consulates in the said countries.

But the diaspora voters will only participate in presidential elections.

“The commission will avail a BVR kit at Anniversary Towers for Kenyans who may be here and live abroad to come and register and that will enable them to vote when they are outside the country,” he said.

Once the registration is done, an audit of the voter register will be done. After which inspection and verification of the register will be done.

The first phase of  voter registration began on October 4, 2021 and ended on November 5, 2021.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker