List Of State Officials, Cabinet Secretaries and PS’s Set To Resign Over Political Ambitions

Photo Courtesy

President Uhuru Kenyatta is likely to face it hard in the next few weeks as a number of his government official set to step down in preparation for the next general election.
According to the law on elections, any state official and public servant eyeing any election post should resign from his position six months before the election.
IEBC has already set 9th Feb as the deadline for those with political ambitions.


A number of Cabinet Secretaries, Principal Secretaries, Chief Administrative Secretaries, Ambassadors as well as heads of parastatals have shown clear indication they will be leaving public office to join politics.

Here is the list of officials who are likely to step down soon.

Cabinet Secretaries.

Devolution Cabinet Secretary Charles Keter is leading a pack of CS’s who will be going back to active politics.
Keter has since expressed intention to vie for the Governor’s seat in his home county of Kericho.

Other cabinet members believed to be harbouring political ambitions but are yet to officially declare their intentions include CS John Munyes (Mining and Petroleum), Peter Munya (Agriculture), Simon Chelugui (Labour), and Sicily Kariuki (Water).

State House officials

Chief of Staff in the Office of the President, Nzioka Waita is seeking to be the next Governor for Machakos County.
State House Director of Political Affairs Machel Waikenda has declared he will be vying for the Kiambu senatorial seat on a UDA ticket.

Chief Administrative Secretaries

Noor Hassan Noor will be seeking the mandate of the people to be the next Mandera Governor.
Petroleum and Mining CAS John Mosonik has declared interest in the Bomet county governor position.
Sports CAS Zack Kinuthia is keen to unseat Kigumo MP Ruth Mwaniki.

Labour CAS Patrick Ntutu is planning to be the 2nd Narok county Governor
Industrialisation CAS Lawrence Karanja is set to run for the Nakuru Senatorial position.
Devolution CAS Gideon Munga’ro has declared interest in the Kilifi governor seat while his Interior counterpart Hussein Dado is eyeing the Tana River Governor seat

Other CAS’s with political ambitions are former Budalangi MP Ababu Namwamba, former inspector general Joseph Boinet, Chri Obure and Former Kisumu Central MP Ken Obura who is seeking to be next Governor for Kisumu County.

Principal Secretaries

Water and Irrigation PS Joseph Irungu is seeking to be the next governor for Murang’a County while his agriculture counterpart Hamadi Boga is looking to be the next governor of kwale county.


Kenya Ambassador to Namibia Benjamin Langat will be seeking the mandate of the Kericho people to be their next governor while his Pakistan counterpart Julius Bitok will square it out with Soy MP Caleb Kositany in the Uasin Gishu gubernatorial race.

Former Kitui East MP Kiema Kilonzo who is Kenya’s ambassador to Uganda is eyeing the Kitui governorship while Mohammed Shidiye (Botswana) is seeking to be the next MP for Lagdera constituency.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker